Hey, Ivy League ladies: if you want to marry up, you need to marry young, so get out there and nail down a freshman!

30 Mar

A bunch of Princeton ladies went to a careers advice lunch with some older Princeton Lady Alum, hoping for some direction and inspiration and they ended up talking about …. men, marriage and children.

lunch

Of course they did.  This inspired Susan Patton to write an article for the Daily Princetonian, urging young women at Princeton to get married while at college, because they would never again have such a pool of worthy men to choose from.  And Susan quite rightly points out that earlier is better.  As a freshman, you have the classes above you to choose from, but each year, the senior class graduates, removing them from the fish barrel, and you yourself will advance a year, meaning the new incoming class is now out of reach.

http://www.google.com/url?sa=D&q=http://www.dailyprincetonian.com/2013/03/29/33188/&usg=AFQjCNFdowrAkLpIeR9rrI8023X61hgg0w

If a lady waits until her senior year to snag that solitaire, she has only the senior class of males to choose from, while those males still have ALL the classes and those hot little bitches entering their freshman year are some kind of competition!

I’m being a bit snarky here, but I actually think Susan’s advice is spot on.  If you WANT to marry and have children, it’s best to do that while you are young.  You can launch your career later, after your children are safely off to school. Very sensible.

http://judgybitch.com/2012/11/03/a-decade-of-dishes-will-turn-a-girl-into-a-woman-and-a-sensible-one-at-that/

What gets my hackles up is the idea that it is only behind the walls of an ivied tower that you are going to find men worthy of a lady from Princeton.  That the only men worth considering are those above you in the social order.  It may be true that ONLY a man from Princeton could possibly endure the snotty, snobby, so fucking full of yourself personality disorders that seem to plague the ladies from Ivy League schools, but that just means Ivy League ladies are snobby, snotty cunts.

snob

Here’s my favorite comment from the Jezebel spin on Susan’s article, from a commenter who calls herself SingleLeaguer (she’ll probably be able to keep that handle permanently):

I’ve literally had the following interaction with men on multiple occasions:

 

(After a sustained period of flirting)

Him: So, where did you go to school?

Me: I went to Yale. You?

Him: Oh wow. Well, it’s been nice talking to you. (Walks away)

 

That’s what my friends and I like to call the Y-Bomb.

 

And this may sound snobby, but often times it’s a lot easier for me to relate to men who were also Ivy Leaguers. It may stem from our similar academic background, or because I know that we’re not going to have that above interaction. And where is it easiest to find a large pool of eligible, heterosexual Ivy League men? At your Ivy League school.

http://jezebel.com/5992910/princeton-alum-tells-female-students-theyre-doomed-unless-they-find-a-princeton-prince-and-get-their-mrs

Oh wow.  You dropped the Y-Bomb, did you?  I wonder if she knows the Y stands for yappy: as in an annoying little yutz that jabbers stupidly and shrilly.

yappy

It’s incredible that she can’t see how her “I went to Yale, see how much better I am than you” conversational style might send the lads running, but so be it.  I guess when you major in nuclear physics, you get to think yourself a bit better than average, no?

Oh now wait a second. Nuclear physics? Hahahahahahah!

http://oir.yale.edu/detailed-data (WO45 Junior and Senior Majors By Gender)

Nope.  Women at Yale are primarily enrolled in Arts and Humanities programs.  58% of all Humanities degrees in 2010 were conferred on women.

grad

67% of the English degrees

87% of the Art History degrees

84% of the Religious Studies degrees

70% of the Anthropology degrees

You know what you say to someone who graduated with an Art History degree from Yale?

Venti 1 pump caramel, 1 pump white mocha, 2 scoops vanilla bean powder, extra ice frappuchino with 2 shots poured over the top (apagotto style) with caramel drizzle under and on top of the whipped cream, double cupped.

latte

Hope she’s smart enough to get that on the first run.   Also, I fucking hate wankers who order shit like this at Starbucks. Yeah, yeah, we get it.  You’re sooooooooooooooo unique and special.

snowlfake

Okay, that’s not fair.  There are SOME clever gals at Yale.

29% of Economics degrees were conferred on women

40% of Political Science degrees

33% of Biomedical Engineering degrees

17% of Geology and Geophysics degrees

0% of Chemical Engineering degrees (oops!)

0% of Mechanical Engineering degrees (double oops!)

But wait!!

87.5% of Women’s Studies degrees were conferred on women. 

cheer

Clearly, the ladies at Yale rock!  So much smarter than the boys!  So much more accomplished.  Why it’s obvious that any man at Yale wants a Yale lady for his own!

Let’s look at the value conferred by those degrees.  The average humanities graduate earns $35 000.  The average engineering graduate earns $59 000.  If you’re looking to marry up, you’ll have to bypass all those boys with humanities and head straight for the engineers.  Too bad there are so few of them.

Only 8% of Yale undergrads are male engineers. Boo!

http://www.forbes.com/sites/susanadams/2012/04/12/college-degrees-with-the-highest-starting-salaries/

What is a lady to do?

toolbelt

Oh my!  Look at this.  The average salary for a man with a trade is $55 000!  Why that’s almost the same as an engineer.

http://www.simplyhired.com/a/salary/search/q-trade

What, you mean those grubby, dirty, tool-belt wearing Neanderthals who probably don’t know a malbec from a syrah and couldn’t quote Blake if their lives depended upon it?

chimney sweep

When my mother died I was very young,

And my father sold me while yet my tongue

Could scarcely cry ” ‘weep! ‘weep! ‘weep! ‘weep!”

So your chimneys I sweep & in soot I sleep.

 

William Blake, Songs of Innocence, 1789

I wouldn’t count on those men not knowing any poetry.  One of the most manly guys I know can recite Robert Frost for you at the drop of a hat.  While hanging drywall.  Wearing a toolbelt.

The institutionalized cultural snobbery against men who work at physically demanding jobs has a lot to do with an institutionalized hatred of all things masculine.  In the End of Men, Hanna Roisin writes:

What if the modern, postindustrial economy is simply more congenial to women than to men? For a long time, evolutionary psychologists have claimed that we are all imprinted with adaptive imperatives from a distant past: men are faster and stronger and hardwired to fight for scarce resources, and that shows up now as a drive to win on Wall Street; women are programmed to find good providers and to care for their offspring, and that is manifested in more- nurturing and more-flexible behavior, ordaining them to domesticity. This kind of thinking frames our sense of the natural order. But what if men and women were fulfilling not biological imperatives but social roles, based on what was more efficient throughout a long era of human history? What if that era has now come to an end? More to the point, what if the economics of the new era are better suited to women?

http://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/2010/07/the-end-of-men/308135/

It’s a seductive siren call for women who really, truly, deep down believe that women are better than men, and that if only women were in charge of everything, the world would be a better place.  Women who desperately want to believe that men are irrelevant and useless and will be trampled into dirt by the ides of March sweeping across the landscape.

The same women who walk into their dark houses, built by men out of materials invented, acquired and crafted by men, who flip a switch on the wall and expect electricity to magically be there while they congratulate themselves on their economic superiority.

power grid

Let’s just consider the power grid and nothing else.  The US is facing a crisis with nearly 45% of power grid engineers heading for retirement within the next few years.

http://energy.gov/sites/prod/files/Case%20Study%20-%20Workforce%20Training%20for%20the%20Electric%20Power%20Sector%20-%20Transforming%20the%20Nation%E2%80%99s%20Electric%20Grid%20-%20November%202011.pdf

Who works to maintain the power grids?

Yep.  That would be men.  And that isn’t going to change any time soon. Go back and look at the Yale data again.  0% of the 2010 graduates in Mechanical Engineering were women.  Not one.  Not one single one.

mechanical

Across all production and craft industries, 91% of the workforce is male.

http://www.bls.gov/opub/mlr/2007/06/art2full.pdf

And that isn’t going to change, either.  What IS changing is that younger men have abandoned a lot of the traditional male occupations for the kinds of cushy jobs that women like and admire and do not find threatening, which has resulted in a severe labor shortage for skilled trades and craftsmen.

http://www.reliableplant.com/Read/26264/Global-skilled-trades-shortage

That is driving the price of skills and trades through the roof, which is an excellent thing.  Those higher wages will bring more men back to the trades.

http://www.bls.gov/opub/ooq/2012/summer/art03.pdf

pole

So chicky who dropped the Y bomb on that guy in the bar?  I hope he wasn’t a power grid worker, because you just lost your shot at a man who brings home the bank.  It’s probably lucky for him, though.  I’m pretty sure that after he spends a day climbing up utilities poles in shitty weather, he isn’t going to listen to you piss and moan about whose turn it is to do the laundry after you’ve spent the day filing shit alphabetically for some man with your art history degree.

Even if it is from Yale.

Men who work hard want one reward for that:  a woman who appreciates him, sees that he works hard, and makes dinner.

steak

Yep. It’s pretty much that simple. You want to really drop a bomb on that guy?  Finish the night with a back rub and sex.

backrub

I’ll bet they don’t teach that at Yale though.

Lots of love,

JB

44 Responses to “Hey, Ivy League ladies: if you want to marry up, you need to marry young, so get out there and nail down a freshman!”

  1. Alex March 30, 2013 at 16:45 #

    you would think they’d teach appreciation in those women’s studies classes

    Like

  2. Bob Wallace March 30, 2013 at 16:52 #

    Too bad so few people have the courage to tell these women: “I know you have these fantasies of a perfect life, but there is a good chance you will end up an overdressed spinster with too much make-up, living alone in an apartment with a cat, on psychiatric medication…and blaming all your problems on men.”

    That is sometimes the logical end result of a woman getting a worthless degree and feeling entitled to a rich handsome husband, while being contemptuous of those hard-working beta/nerd/geeks. You know, Dilbert.

    Like

  3. Liz March 30, 2013 at 17:08 #

    Married my engineer at 19, while in college…when he was just a guy with big dreams, a pizza delivering job, and a bad wardrobe. Smartest decision I ever made. Even better than buying Apple stock at 14 back in the late 90s when it looked like the company might fold (my first ever purchase of shares). I’ve heard people say you need to wait “until you’re grown up” to get married and have children (for some reason “grown up” now seems to mean waiting until you’re 30 or over).

    IMO, you haven’t really grown up until they give you that first baby to take home, and you’re like, “wait…this is mine? I’m in charge?” You grow up right then and there. You could be 19 or 40.

    Like

  4. TMG March 30, 2013 at 17:16 #

    AND the reality is, these women will look right past the exact men they say they want if he doesn’t meet her standards of height or hunkiness. And if he does, he’s “supposed” to approach HER…because no strong and independent woman should ever have to take the risk of asking out a man.

    But no worries, in the meantime she will gladly let dozens of alpha males pound it into her vagina while she waits for her hunky rich tall Ivy-league graduate who is ready to marry.

    Like

  5. sqt March 30, 2013 at 17:51 #

    I never turned my nose up at a guy based on career or education- and in hindsight I was very smart to be that way. I didn’t slut around, I just didn’t blow a guy off if didn’t look a certain way. My husband was bussing tables at a Mexican restaurant when we met. Other women wouldn’t give him the time of day but I talked to him and realized that he had a lot more going on than all the other, flashier guys. He graduated from college a short time later with a degree in finance and went to work for one of those Fortune 500 companies that the media likes to demonize. I married him about two years later and every day he tells me how lucky he is to have me, but I know I’m lucky to have him.

    I love your site JB. It reminds me everyday to love and cherish my husband.

    Like

  6. Liz March 30, 2013 at 18:49 #

    Hear, hear!! 🙂

    Like

  7. sambaw March 30, 2013 at 19:09 #

    I knew quite a few girls in high school who went to ivy league schools. Without exception, they turned into psychotic bitches with exceptionally inflated opinions of themselves. I’ve had limited contact with them since I left my home town 8 years ago (I am to be looked down upon as a lesser being and sometimes hated, due to my professional choices and personal beliefs: I am a combat veteran, and now an earth raping economic geologist who works for an open pit mine, with generally libertarian political views), but most of them seem to be involved in politics or similar areas of work, and none have degrees that would help keep the wheels of the world turning.

    Given that, if a girl has a degree from an ivy league school, it’s an enormous red flag for me. She’d have to do some serious work convincing me she was sane if she wanted to be part of my life. It has nothing to do with being “intimidated” by her degree–none of the girls I knew who went to ivy league schools came close to beating me in school or in standardized tests–but rather with knowing what sort of mental baggage likely comes with it. I have to deal with enough intellectually dishonest bullshit from girls at my own little state university that I’m not interested in putting up with the supercharged version ivy leaguers bring to the table.

    Like

  8. Marlo Rocci March 30, 2013 at 19:23 #

    Given the wage disparity illustrated in your previous article, the fact that women are busy putting careers first and marriage last is a good thing. The only way to fix the wage disparity is to starve the system of little worker bees. So I say let them hold out. The older the age of marriage, the less chance of children, the fewer worker bees, the higher they get paid.

    Like

  9. Shawn March 30, 2013 at 21:47 #

    Susan Patton have 2 sons attending Princeton so……yeah.

    Like

  10. Padukah T March 30, 2013 at 22:27 #

    mmmm-mm, you sound like a hot Roark who knows how to shoot, to this “over” educated girl… 😉

    Like

  11. Marlo Rocci March 30, 2013 at 22:32 #

    I took one of those women’s studies classes. They taught me self loathing. It taught the women in the class to become lesbians. With any luck, those women never touched a man ever again.

    Like

  12. CrimsonGirl March 30, 2013 at 23:01 #

    JB, I adore your blog, but don’t assume that all Ivy League ladies are like this! I went to Harvard to study the humanities because I love literature, did not sleep around because I am not a slut, read many awesome books, met many amazing boys and kissed a few, fell in love with the most amazing one of all, and we’re getting married as soon as he graduates from (a different Ivy League) law school. Currently, I am a freelance writer, which means I can both work a little (if I want) AND stay home with children as soon as we have any (we’re waiting till he starts his job). I am an awesome cook who makes him three meals a day, keeps his place beautiful, rubs his back after long days, manages our money very competently (he works during the summers and you better believe I make his money multiply like weasels in the stock market), etc.

    A close dude friend met his wife in college; she’s a year older, but they adore each other and she stays home with the kids and takes awesome care of him while he works at a job he loves and which also makes a lot of money.

    I mean, didn’t YOU go to B-school to get an MRS? We did the same thing…just younger.

    My college roommate is engaged to a firefighter. My best friend from college married to a short but sexy fighter pilot who went to a state school and makes comparatively little, and neither of them give a rat’s ass about her “superior” degree. She’s smart and kind and hot, he’s smart and kind and hot, they love each other. So whether or not a woman went to a “good” college isn’t an automatic marker of (as another comment suggests) a “psychotic bitch” or a snobby cunt. “I went to Yale” or “I went to Harvard” is a fact; its only when someone says “I am more comfortable with other Ivy Leaguers” that you can for sure label them an asshole.

    I realize anecdote is not data and that the kind of girl you describe exists (I knew a few and they are not my friends), but it’s sad when one of my favorite blogs takes the word of a Jezebel comment to assume that ALL Ivy League ladies are like this when I certainly met many, many who aren’t!

    Love ya.

    Like

  13. judgybitch March 30, 2013 at 23:05 #

    Crimson Girl,

    You sound like a treasure! It warms my heart to know you exist.

    I think more and more women are waking up to realize that the single most important decision that will affect your life and happiness is NOT your career, but your husband.

    A truth universally known….aaaaaand forgotten.

    Glad to see the clever ladies remembering.

    Welcome home

    Like

  14. CrimsonGirl March 30, 2013 at 23:28 #

    Thanks so much, beautiful. 🙂

    I credit my mama. She also went to a great university, graduated with honors, married a man she met there, and is living the life I want to have. She had to work for a few years after marriage because they were dirt poor and wanted to start a business together, but once she had babies, she quit her full time job and came home to help manage the business and take care of my siblings and me. And JB, let me tell you, it was AMAZING to have your mother always there for you to bandage your knee, play games with you, and read you stories. Her degree certainly came into use when it came to giving us a well-rounded education. My childhood home is beautiful, my dad (best dad ever, fathers are so important!) comes home to a healthy, delicious dinner every night (sometimes I go home just so I can eat her cooking), my mother helps him run his business, and their income is substantial.

    She taught me a lot of the same things you talk about (minus some of the swearing 😉 ): don’t be fat (not only for attracting a man but for your own health), take care of the people you love, and help your life partner. I think this is why I sort of love you. 😉

    PS – though I’m marrying a lawyer, I love the idea of a man who works with his hands. Sexy. Gonna go find a romance novel right now with a carpenter hero, methinks.

    PS2 – I love reading the posts about how you met your husband and how you raise your children. Plan on being you when I grow up.

    Like

  15. Apprentice March 31, 2013 at 00:14 #

    I left my high status, finance job in Canada’s biggest city (JB’s former residence at one time i believe) and moved west to start a trade. I was absolutely miserable for 3 years leading up to the point I began my apprenticeship and everything lifted. I now realize I needed to connect my hands to my brain.

    When I was in Finance, I didn’t have to do anything but wear my expensive suits and tell girls what I did and I was in. Now, I am definitely looked down upon. The joke is, by the time I get my journeyman ticket, I will be making at least 50% more than I did in finance.

    AND!

    I can fix shit.

    I wouldn’t have it any other way.

    Like

  16. Ter March 31, 2013 at 01:02 #

    I’m curious, you must have known that was going to be the case before you enrolled – why did you do that to yourself?

    Like

  17. Z March 31, 2013 at 02:51 #

    This is true. I married when I was 21 and many other people around me were doing all this career stuff. Early on I was like “I missed out. I didn’t get to live that life”, But as I’m coming up on 12 years of marriage I feel like I made a really good choice because I know what matters most to me is being loved by a great guy. Now so many of my peers are single and rushing around asking where “all the good guys went”. Or they are complaining about men who don’t seem to care all that much about them.

    I didn’t finish school (though I have continued learning things. Not having a piece of paper doesn’t mean stupid), but what I wanted to do didn’t require school (writing.) I’m extremely grateful I get to live the life I do. Staying home, writing, taking care of the house, controlling my own schedule, spending time with my husband.

    He’s a computer programmer, but pretty alpha for his career path. Alpha nerd may be an oxymoron but he was both a “smart guy” and a jock in college. So he was a bit of a hybrid.

    Smart tech guys are awesome. If I wasn’t with a smart tech guy, my second choice would be a cattle rancher or a guy who works on an oil rig. No, I’m not kidding. LOL Cattle ranchers know how to survive with or without money, and men working on Oil rigs make good money. Both categories of male are pretty masculine/alpha in their approach to life and don’t seem to have been taken in by all this feminist crap.

    Like

  18. Joseph G. March 31, 2013 at 03:09 #

    The truth you said reminded of a very harsh truth I read about before on cracked.com called the 6 Harsh Truths that will make you a better person.

    http://www.cracked.com/blog/6-harsh-truths-that-will-make-you-better-person/

    You say it so excellently here, and seemed to parallel that that article was about 🙂

    Like

  19. Marlo Rocci March 31, 2013 at 03:45 #

    Curiosity. The course was called “philosophy of women’s’ literature”. If was part of both the philosophy and women’s’ studies department,. Fortunately I easily shook off their attempt to convince me I was an evil rapist because I have a penis.

    I wanted to know what they considered “women’s literature”. It was basically rape porn.

    Like

  20. Hired Mind March 31, 2013 at 09:00 #

    I have damn near had the Y-bomb conversation, only from the male side. I only had one other question after getting answer to which school she attended: “Oh, in what did you major?” The answer was “Women’s studies”.

    The conversation over the dinner was a bit spartan after that, and later I gave her the opportunity to prove what an empowered little Feminist she was, by letting her pay for her own meal, and walking herself to her own door (although I did wait until she got inside before driving away – but I always regretted that).

    Like

  21. Liz March 31, 2013 at 12:42 #

    Reading this and having those funny feelings again.
    JB’s site is starting to turn into something of a porn fix for me….it’s the thinking woman’s fifty shades.

    Alpha and (book) smart are definitely NOT an oxymoron. I couldn’t fall in love with a guy who I didn’t think is smarter than I am.

    Like

  22. Z March 31, 2013 at 14:03 #

    Good point. True! And yes, JB is a teeny bit subversive, LOL! It’s refreshing.

    Like

  23. Z March 31, 2013 at 14:09 #

    Oh, and… since smart guys are so often portrayed as these wimpy, stuttering betas in the media, it’s easy to forget that the alpha qualities are those in which they are “better” than you: Smarter, faster, stronger, bigger, etc.

    Stupid isn’t super alpha. LOL

    Like

  24. judgybitch March 31, 2013 at 14:15 #

    Tool belts.

    Mmmm

    Those get me.

    Like

  25. Athan Nyx March 31, 2013 at 14:20 #

    I go to university… I have never ventured into a Women’s studies class but a friend of a friend, literally someone this guy knew, got shouted at for saying something dissenting. It is kind of funny because they do stuff like that and then they have a newspaper article on why they are losing people for feminism.

    Like

  26. Dillon March 31, 2013 at 15:23 #

    Who is better? The ivy league lady who snubs her nose at the blue collar worker or the lady who “gives him a chance” since he makes good money?

    Marriage has become such a bad deal for men that to me, ivy league lady is the kinder one of the two.

    Don’t worry about the ones who reject you, they are just being honest. Worry about the ones who claim to love you.

    Like

  27. Sterling March 31, 2013 at 20:31 #

    Ha! Bonus points for use of the word “wanker” 😀
    Your worldliness shows!

    Like

  28. LJBiFed! April 1, 2013 at 05:03 #

    In the US upper middle class university graduates are the demographic most likely to marry and least likely to divorce. And they don’t marry until late 20s.

    Contrast this with just high school grads or people who take some semesters of college but don’t graduate, and those who marry young. Much higher divorce statistics.

    In the US, the path to a long lasting marriage is through university.

    Like

  29. stormy April 2, 2013 at 00:10 #

    I’m an “Ivy League lady,” and a lot of the men here are not suitable for marriage. Some of the men you do find that are good on paper have glaring flaws. You have to watch out for the charming sociopaths. Also keep in mind that at least half of the students were raised EXTREMELY WEALTHY. These are the guys that will take you out on a date and possibly get violent if you don’t put out, because they are entitled to your body. I serve on a judiciary board and you have no idea how many Title IX’s we have to deal with. The two most common violations are underaged drinking and sexual assault/rape. And some of the perps are men you’d never guess to be perps.

    Also don’t forget that fraternity culture is huuuge in certain Ivy League schools, and so is hazing and everything else that comes with it. If a lady wants to find a hubbie, she needs to look outside that culture, which is unfortunate, because I do know some young gentleman that are frustrated with the negative fraternity stereotypes.

    It’s not even that bad. The number of people who resemble Patrick Bateman here is significantly greater than the potential Bruce Waynes. You know that scene from American Psycho where the Yuppies compare business cards? Coked out yuppie-ism is very alive still, and it’s thriving in the Ivy League system.

    I’ve met some really nice guys though. The really nice guys are smart usually. I know a few guys that are attractive chick magnets, funny to talk to, very polite, gentlemen, the kind of guys you can hang out with and KNOW they will keep you safe and won’t ever hurt you, but they’re unavailable, not because they’re taken, but because they don’t date. And they don’t hook up either or have flings. I mean they just. don’t. date. Probably because they’re too smart to get involved with any woman they meet in college. And I’ll be quite honest, if I were single, and they asked me out, I’d say yes in a heartbeat. Which is probably an awful thought to have…shame on me.

    I’m not trashing everyone who goes to an Ivy League school. I have amazing friends here and have met some inspirational people who are incredible and motivate me to become better every day. I just question if undergrad is the place to find a husband. The wealthy guys are suspicious of you if you aren’t an heiress to begin with (who can blame them?). A number of people are trying to figure their lives out and don’t have time for it. A greater number of guys are just not suitable material for anything long or short term, or ever.

    If you do want to find someone, my advice is to go for the PhD students, the Post Docs, etc. I thought that my pool would get “narrower” as I got older. It actually got broader. I don’t look at undergrads anymore. Professionals, alumni, MBA students, JD students, MD students, PhD students, Post Docs, etc. are all available now, which they weren’t before. Beforehand they would have rolled their eyes at me. Just an fyi. And if you date a man who’s already semi established, it’s a lot less of a gamble. You KNOW he will be successful. There is no guarantee that a man will be successful in undergrad, even with a Princeton degree.

    Like

  30. Mike Hunter April 2, 2013 at 05:33 #

    Let’s look at the value conferred by those degrees. The average humanities graduate earns $35 000.

    Nice try. But I’m sure JB is smart enough to realize that a humanities graduate from Yale isn’t an average humanities graduate. Also no I didn’t go to an Ivy League school, and no I don’t have a degree in something useless like philosophy.

    Also since when was a degree in political science considered a difficult degree to get?

    Like

  31. Clover April 2, 2013 at 10:52 #

    I think the Princetonians have a point, but it’s not the one they think they’re making. University is one of those places where you meet a lot of people, full stop. If you’re a girl looking for a potential hubby, you’ll meet a lot of single men at university, and you’re likely to meet those that share a subject (and hopefully some interests) with you. In the rest of life, there’s not such a captive market to browse, even if the quality of the men you do meet might be higher on average. I’ve certainly had friends who complain that it’s ‘impossible’ to meet a guy one you leave university.
    But I can’t comment really. I decided to study long distance rather than move out to go to uni, and I met my man at a friend’s party. Didn’t seem too hard, but maybe I was just lucky!

    Like

  32. happycrow April 2, 2013 at 18:02 #

    I’ve outcompeted Ivy grads with a set of degres that have absolutely no cachet. My *community-college* students have outplayed Ivy competition, and done so quite steadily. I won’t begrudge a man or woman for being Ivy – they can redeem themselves if they learn to adapt to the real world.

    I’m not snarking. “Exclusive” can mean serious quality, or it can mean “in for the surprise of his life.” You can get a damned good education in the Ivies, and many do. The merely credentialed, on the other hand, have no advantage but a name to drop (and a larger circle of alumni who judging from the stories I hear really don’t care much about their fellow alums), and a much larger student debt load.

    Like

  33. Keanu April 3, 2013 at 16:36 #

    Hey JB, I’m sure you’ve seen this already but in case you didn’t, looks like CNN picked up this story as well: http://www.cnn.com/2013/04/02/opinion/brazile-princeton-alum/index.html?hpt=hp_bn7

    You know you are on track when you start striking closer and closer to the heart of the MSM…The author even agrees with you on something:

    In all this advice to “the daughters (she) never had,” there is one point on which I cannot disagree with Ms. Patton: “It’s amazing how forgiving men can be about a woman’s lack of erudition, if she is exceptionally pretty.” Perhaps Princeton should forgo academic requirements for its female students and instead teach “How to Be Exceptionally Pretty.”

    Like

  34. Penny July 4, 2013 at 17:10 #

    Yes my Environmental Science and Biotech degrees (from Yale and Johns Hopkins, respectively) were so “worthless” it’s pathetic…….no what’s pathetic is the automatic assumption that they MUST be just because I’m an Ivy League woman??

    Like

  35. Future Computer Engineer July 22, 2013 at 02:09 #

    Thank you for this post. I left my job as an electrician making $65k a year to pursue Computer Engineering precisely because I ran into a lot of negative assumptions about my character/class/intelligence/status(?) because I was working a blue collar job (I grew up in a poor background). To be honest, because of my negative experience I am wary of many women with advanced degrees because of this sense of entitlement. I am quite attractive and have always had many women interested in me so I will probably marry to my advantage because it is prudent (younger, high earning, kind/good character, attractive). Currently, I am 29 and in school so women my own age who I am intellectually compatible with will not take me seriously as a potential husband (to be fair partially I cannot commit because I will be transferring to another school in about a year). Currently I am dating (just started) a 19 year old student. I am glad to hear not all women think in the same manner.

    Like

  36. Jack Strawb January 6, 2015 at 00:22 #

    What’s pathetic is your remarkable inability to read for comprehension. We must assume they failed to teach you it at Yale.

    Like

  37. Merry January 14, 2015 at 17:03 #

    Awesome

    Like

  38. Merry January 14, 2015 at 17:07 #

    25 years after making your decision, I applaud you for being secure enough to figure out the truths so early.
    Have a beautiful, meaningful life. I have. No regrets.

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Akademisk utbildning och hypergami | Yasers hörna - April 19, 2013

    […] [Hey, Ivy League ladies: if you want to marry up, you need to marry young, so get out there and nail… […]

    Like

  2. Yoo hoo! Hey all you career ladies with no time for a husband! And all you single mamas! And all you older ladies hitting the wall! I have the solution to all your man-hunting woes! | judgybitch - April 28, 2013

    […] http://judgybitch.com/2013/03/30/hey-ivy-league-ladies-if-you-want-to-marry-up-you-need-to-marry-you… […]

    Like

  3. Being a mother isn’t a job? Bullshit. Is it the toughest job? Hahahahahahah! Nope. But it’s definitely a job. | judgybitch - July 13, 2013

    […] http://judgybitch.com/2013/03/30/hey-ivy-league-ladies-if-you-want-to-marry-up-you-need-to-marry-you… […]

    Like

  4. Hook-up Culture is a thing white kids do? Why are more than 70% of black children born out of wedlock then? More white, liberal guilt than only reinforces the norm. | judgybitch - July 23, 2013

    […] http://judgybitch.com/2013/03/30/hey-ivy-league-ladies-if-you-want-to-marry-up-you-need-to-marry-you… […]

    Like

  5. If on-campus men’s centers are a push-back against feminism, what exactly are they pushing back against? Let’s look at The Redstockings Manifesto. | judgybitch - September 30, 2013

    […] http://judgybitch.com/2013/03/30/hey-ivy-league-ladies-if-you-want-to-marry-up-you-need-to-marry-you… […]

    Like

  6. A few thoughts about traditionalism and adults who depend on other adults | judgybitch - October 28, 2014

    […] the life I wanted for myself and the family I imagined. And even when self-proclaimed feminists are specifically asked to discuss this issue with women, they refuse to do so and turn the conversation back to pantsuits […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

