A Podcast and a radio show

1 Aug

Here is me on the Drunken Peasants podcast:

 

 

And me on an Australian radio show, which is mostly the usual feminist blah blah blah bullshit, but the last caller, Katie, is worth a listen. Her 5 year old son brings flowers for a classmate and the feminist response is toxic, disgusting and utterly predictable.

 

http://www.abc.net.au/radionational/programs/lifematters/feminism/5636112

 

This is certainly an interesting time for women against feminism.

 

Lots of love,

 

JB

24 Responses to “A Podcast and a radio show”

  1. bonkti August 1, 2014 at 15:39 #

    Fine work on the Aussie radio. As you note, it’s a shame that Katie was the next-to-last caller, rather than the first. Her vulnerability as the mother of a son and her intelligent response to the absurd rape-culture paranoia in kindergarten was powerful, and you were wise to highlight it.

    I think the host did a good job of letting the callers explain their thoughts. I think that both you and many of the callers actually shook the narrator out from a default pro-feminist bias.

    The other guest who responded to the question of why aren’t their more men’s health centers with an answer that the government needs to spend more on feminist issues was illuminating in its blindness.

    Like

  2. womenwithsons August 1, 2014 at 15:52 #

    I’ve noticed women with sons have a particularly clear view of how the cultural winds are blowing with regard to their genetic future.

    Like

  3. Jim August 1, 2014 at 16:58 #

    That’s because like most of them they like to wait until it comes to their front door to open their eyes.

    Like

  4. That_Susan August 1, 2014 at 22:29 #

    Hi, I haven’t been able to watch the whole interview yet — but I wanted to comment on the “Let’s teach men not to rape”-slogan. Because I certainly don’t believe most men are rapists!

    And yet, having grown up in fundamentalist Christianity, and not actually leaving it until about seven years ago, I’ve been exposed to a strong thread of teaching that holds women responsible, to a great extent, for men’s thought lives and sexual morality. During one of my last visits to my old church, I sat in Sunday School with my then SEVEN-YEAR-OLD daughter, and listened to a message about how careful girls needed to be not to tempt boys and men and cause them to have lustful thoughts.

    A few years prior to that, I’d actually been admonished for breastfeeding my daughter IN THE CHURCH NURSERY. It was felt that, since teen boys and men sometimes volunteered in there, and even when they weren’t doing so, might drop in to drop off or pick up a child, this meant that breastfeeding moms needed to isolate themselves by going into the back room. And someone else expressed concern about moms breastfeeding in the church sanctuary, because what about all those poor men silently suffering from sexual addictions?

    It seemed that babies’ needs to be fed and comforted promptly, as well as mothers’ needs (or I guess some would call it desires) to have a social life and not have to keep rushing off to some private spot if they happened to have one of those babies who was a very frequent nurser, paled in comparison to the needs of those poor males who probably saw all kinds of cleavage in every other context, but could be driven into a dark, dark place at the very hint of a mother suckling her child.

    I guess I’m saying that the real truth lies somewhere between the idea that “all women are victimized by men” and the idea that “all men are victimized by women.” I DO think that some young men who’ve been raised in the kind of environment I’ve just described may be less inclined to assume personal responsibility for their sexuality than men in the general population — but I’m sure that doesn’t mean that even the majority of them will grow up to commit rape and blame the woman for tempting them.

    Again, reality is somewhere in-between. Take that horrid song “Blurred Lines,” with it’s not-so-subtle message that you can help a “nice girl” out by making the choice to have sex FOR her, so she can get the sex without having to be a “bad girl.” I realize I’m interpreting and those aren’t the literal lines, so if someone has a different take on the message of that song, I’ll be interested to hear it!

    Like

  5. caprizchka August 2, 2014 at 00:36 #

    Feminists like to take credit for every good thing that happens to anyone–men, women, children, or “other”; but refuse to acknowledge responsibility of feminist policies toward any suffering whatsoever. It is as if to say that feminism=good and therefore if it is “good” then it is “feminism”. So, why not just rename feminism “goodism”? Because that might remove some feminine privilege. There’s just no such thing as rational dialog with a narcissist. The first feminist in the first clip obviously doesn’t belong in the movement. I hope that she comes to realize that one day–for *her* sake.

    Like

  6. AussieITNerd August 2, 2014 at 01:01 #

    Ok, so as an Australian who’s family has been heavily involved in workers rights for over 100 years in this country. I’d like to address the ‘17%’ pay gap mentioned by the first caller, because obviously not everone hearing this will be Australian. We have a system of payment known as the award wage system, awards wages are the base rate (minimum) pay that an employer is allowed to pay an individual in a particular role. There is nothing in the Australian award pay system that states that different genderes are allowed to be paid less. So from a legal point of view, a car sales person, male or female will be on a base wage of say $35,000pa (rough estimate) with say 10% commission.

    There is however, a gender earning gap. This is something that’s very simply to work out, entry level wages for first year nurses (when I was at uni, the nursing course was at least 85% female) is around $45,000. Now we walk over to the IT department, 85-95% male. A qualified systems administrator in Melbourne can expect to hit $65,000 without much difficulty. Now if we take both of those groups and say there are 10 people in each. And take into account maybe 3 of each have the opposite to expected genders, IE 3 male nurses and 3 IT females. BAM like 20% EARNING gap. (13.5% actually, but you get my drift)

    The simple solution to the gender pay ‘gap’, pick a career that pays well. Not a confident outgoing person, don’t choose to sell cars. You want to earn a but load of money, pick a skilled, in demand, growth industry.

    Sorry for the insanely long post, but I couldn’t resist when it was in my own country.

    Like

  7. AussieITNerd August 2, 2014 at 01:09 #

    Still on the first caller, the privilaged psudo intellectual with all the stats… 1 woman is killed every week in Australia via domestic violence. So 52 a year? Given the rate of homicide in Australia is somewhere in the area of 230-250 a year that seems unreasonably high. She’s literally saying that over 1/5th or more than 20% of homicides are not only female, but domestic violence. I call BS on that, I’m not even claiming that she’s mistaken, I think she plain made that up on the spot.

    “Statistics can be used to prove anything Kent, forfty percent of all people know that”
    -Homer Simpson

    Like

  8. AussieITNerd August 2, 2014 at 01:17 #

    I know some if not all of these posts will probably be removed because, well lets face it, there are a few of them. But, on the note of pregnant women being descriminated against, lets keep in mind in Australia we have 4.5 months GOVERNMENT funded maturnaty leave, that you can stack with any paid leave you have from your employer. It is literally possible to have a year of paid leave without issue.

    Like

  9. AussieITNerd August 2, 2014 at 01:43 #

    OMFG! We only have one female MP, Julie Bishop? What about the other 40 odd female MPs… I cannot get over the outright lies these people put forward. The MP for my area is female and she’s not Julie Bishop… FFS

    Like

  10. wqjcv August 2, 2014 at 01:46 #

    I agree that sites like Jezebel are not the best place to learn about feminism. If contributers to these sites are not representative of feminism, where is the effort on the part of “true” feminists to denounce their hateful message?

    Like

  11. That_Susan August 2, 2014 at 11:01 #

    You’ve just inspired me! Someone opening a new website has offered me the chance to start a blog, and I was wondering what topic to start with. This seems like a very good one — what it means to be a feminist who also loves and cares about men.

    Like

  12. Master Beta August 2, 2014 at 12:01 #

    Look at this JB and others:

    http://thecrewenews.co.uk/male-arrested-after-child-was-approached-in-suspicious-circumstances/

    I wonder how big a part in “being suspicious” his being male played. I also wonder if he was foreign (probably).

    Like

  13. That_Susan August 2, 2014 at 16:02 #

    Done! Here’s the link to my first blog post: http://www.redgage.com/signup?rf=/blogs/thatsusan/loving-the-other-half-of-humanity.html

    Like

  14. MD August 2, 2014 at 20:12 #

    The resume name-change study (only one) cited at the end of the first video had a very narrow premise, but it’s no surprise to see it generalized to “all resumes, everywhere.”

    Like

  15. That_Susan August 3, 2014 at 02:19 #

    Actually, don’t go to that link. It looks like an advertiser there is trying to get people to download some kind of malware. Sorry.

    Like

  16. nrjnigel August 3, 2014 at 09:52 #

    I think that heartfelt mothers story of her 5 year old son. And the summing up by JB and the two feminists. Put together are iconic of the toxicity in one ordinary mother and son’s life. An eloquent sound bite.

    Like

  17. Jim August 4, 2014 at 19:19 #

    Well, you should try not to be a temptress. If you don’t then don’t be surprised by catcalls and unwanted attention.

    Like

  18. That_Susan August 4, 2014 at 20:51 #

    Hmm, you seem to be replying to my post without having read it. I never said anything about catcalls or unwanted attention. I was talking about being in a conservative Christian church where nursing mothers were expected to isolate themselves because apparently there were men and teenaged boys who could cope with EVERY OTHER use of the female breast than the intended one.

    I never actually got any negative feedback, or any “catcalls,” from men about it — I only heard from women. And frankly, I think churches that go on and on about all the ways that women tempt men and drive them deeper into their sexual addictions, and so on, are very, VERY insulting to men.

    I understand that we live in a society that sexualizes breasts, where some people are so ignorant about breastfeeding and milk supply that they’ll even suggest that moms breastfeed at home and use bottles in public, so as not to offend any squeamish people.

    But when squeamishness is interfering with human health, we just need to get over it. It’s one thing if I’m squeamish about eating snails, no one else is affected (other than the poor snail) by whether or not I eat a snail — but if I’m even offended by others eating snails, I think it’s on me to avoid being in places where I’m likely to see snails being eaten — I shouldn’t be expecting the restaurant manager to send all the snail-eaters off to the bathroom to eat their dinner!

    Like

  19. SidheKnight (@SidheKnight) August 7, 2014 at 13:18 #

    I totally get what you say, Susan.

    BTW, all of this happened to you in America I suppose?

    I have noticed that, at least compared to my country (Argentina), americans tend to be very sensitive about breast-feeding in public, and many people consider it disrespectful or indecent.

    It’s the opposite here, women breast-feed everywhere, in every public space and it’s considered perfectly normal and reasonable. People don’t see breast-feeding as a sexual thing (If you see a baby sucking milk on a tit and get a boner, you’re pretty fucked up to begin with).

    Just my experience.

    Like

  20. That_Susan August 7, 2014 at 14:18 #

    Yes, I’m in America. That’s great that Argentina’s so child-friendly.

    Like

  21. SidheKnight (@SidheKnight) August 7, 2014 at 14:30 #

    Thanks.

    People forget sometimes that breast-feeding is about the child a lot more than it is about the mother. And calling responsible mothers that tend to their child’s needs “slutty” or “provoking” completely misses the point and is very disrespectful of both the mother and the child.

    Like

  22. That_Susan August 7, 2014 at 14:48 #

    Exactly! And again, my views on the patriarchy are based on having spent many years in a fundamentalist religion, where it seemed like there was a HUGE focus on wives’ role in making sure that their husbands were happy and weren’t feeling like the baby came before them. Don’t get me wrong, I think both spouses should care about making each other happy — but I mean, I had a woman in church telling me it was wrong to bring my nursing baby to bed with me because “the marriage bed is for your husband.” Thankfully, my husband didn’t feel this way at all and was actually the first one to suggest that we should sleep with her between us.

    Like

  23. Ashley August 10, 2014 at 12:52 #

    I just want to say that you made some good points in the radio show about rape culture and men not having as many rights as women. Also, I am inclined to think you are right that maybe it would be better if we shifted towards egalitarianism.

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Podcast and a radio show | Manosphere.com - August 1, 2014

    […] A Podcast and a radio show […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

