JBTV Episode 4: Legal rights that women have and men don’t – #HeForShe ? Try the other way around.

24 Sep

17 Responses to “JBTV Episode 4: Legal rights that women have and men don’t – #HeForShe ? Try the other way around.”

  1. john September 25, 2014 at 04:13 #

    Any chance of a transcript for these ? Do you write up a script before you do the videos?

    I dislike video/audio quite a lot, as I am stuck at talking speed to take in the information.

    Like

  2. Magnus September 25, 2014 at 10:11 #

    Most of her videos are of her reading her old blog posts, so you should be able to find all of them on here.
    Maybe JB could post the links to the original posts under the video? 🙂

    Like

  3. judgybitch September 25, 2014 at 10:27 #

    Good idea – will do that

    Like

  4. Matze September 25, 2014 at 17:32 #

    Wait…What? Men in the US get not the right to vote when they are 18 years old, if they not sign something.

    I’am from Germany and this i haven’t heard before.

    Like

  5. OldBroad57 September 25, 2014 at 18:09 #

    I’ve been lurking for a very long time trying very hard to find something to agree with you on. I finally found it. Reproductive rights for men.

    I think it is shameful that many men who have WANTED to be a father to a child they helped create, were shut out (in a most cruel way) by the mother who adopted the child without their consent. All things equal, if he is a capable, able, and wiling father, and the mother is not, he definitively deserves the right to parent his child without the mother’s involvement.

    When it comes to abortion however, I’m still conflicted so I don’t really have a strong opinion. But,I *do* believe a man should (as should a woman) take preventative measures if he doesn’t want to be a parent. Condoms are cheap. Use them if you don’t want a child.

    I’m back to lurking. Outside of this issue, I just can’t get on board with much of anything else you have to say.

    Like

  6. slacker September 25, 2014 at 20:58 #

    I remember reading the comments on thought catalog back when you posted the original article and being freaked out by the number of people that said you were wrong but couldn’t be bothered to even attempt to articulate a reason why. Karen Straughan has been saying it for a while now, but the knee jerk reactions from feminists on there and numerous other sites have convinced me that their movement is more like a region or cult than anything else.

    Like

  7. slacker September 25, 2014 at 21:33 #

    oops I meant Religion not region that will teach me not to type when I’m tired.

    Like

  8. The Real Peterman September 25, 2014 at 23:23 #

    Well, have fun lurking. Thanks for speaking for men’s reproductive rights.

    Like

  9. The Real Peterman September 25, 2014 at 23:24 #

    Blame autocorrect.

    Like

  10. Joe September 26, 2014 at 00:27 #

    Women have a ministry to defend their rights, too: I don’t know for other countries (I didn’t find any equivalent in the world), but in France we have a Ministry of Women’s Rights: missions of this ministry are fight domestic violence (against women), sexual violence (against women), sexual harrassment (against women), sexual mutilations (excision only), and, last but not least, promote equality between men and women.
    I’m still waiting for my Ministry of Men’s Rights.

    Like

  11. Zane September 26, 2014 at 10:38 #

    I’d be very interested in hearing what issues you disagree with JB on, or are you simply afraid they won’t hold up to real scrutiny?

    Like

  12. Kristian September 26, 2014 at 11:28 #

    Hear, hear. Keep calling them out.

    Unfortunately Emma Watson couldn’t take the opposite or even the ‘equalist’ view. Not if she wants to get any more work in movies anywhere in the Western world.

    As wiser people than I have already said: if they always have to refer to the dictionary rather than their actions, what are they trying to hide?

    Like

  13. OldBroad57 September 26, 2014 at 14:12 #

    Let me tell you what I respect:

    People who present well-thought out, well-reasoned arguments based in fact, who do not resort to histrionics, hyperbole, demagoguery, or ad hominem tactics to gain support.

    I prefer to draw my own conclusions regarding their argument based on my own interpretation of the facts.

    I give almost zero credence to statistics as a way to support one’s arguments, to give them weight or authority. Anybody who knows anything about statistical data knows full well that it is as subject to distortion, bias, and misrepresentation of facts.

    I also do not respect challenges which resemble middle-school yard taunts to enter a fight.

    Judgy Bitch presented a good argument here regarding men’s reproductive rights. Though I haven’t spent any time researching the issue, I believe there is certainly enough anecdotal evidence to suggest that the point she is making is based in fact. Therefore, I agree with her.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. wqjcv October 4, 2014 at 20:59 #

    YouTube has a transcript option, doesn’t always work that well, though.

    Like

  15. wqjcv October 4, 2014 at 21:04 #

    If fathers aren’t held financially responsible for their children, then the burden might fall on taxpayers. It’s not just feminists who are disinterested in equality.

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. JBTV Episode 4: Legal rights that women have and men don’t – #HeForShe ? Try the other way around. | Manosphere.com - September 24, 2014

    […] JBTV Episode 4: Legal rights that women have and men don’t – #HeForShe ? Try the other way aroun… […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

