I need a volunteer – anyone read and write Swedish?

20 Nov

anneli-cartoon-750x420

 

[Edited to add: Becky and Sereck thank you! Your work is very much appreciated! Translations complete.]

 

There are two articles up on A Voice For Men’s Swedish site that are causing an enormous ruckus in Sweden. All our staff in Sweden are busy dealing with the comments, media inquiries and fallout from these articles and getting translations has been at the bottom of the priority list.

 

Are there any volunteers here who might have the time, interest or ability in translating these two articles for publication at A Voice For Men?

 

http://se.avoiceformen.com/manshat/det-racker-nu-nyheter-24-fatta/

 

http://se.avoiceformen.com/antifeminism/nu-ar-min-grans-nadd-var-gar-er/

 

Please email me at Janet@avoiceformen.com

 

And thank you in advance for your help.

 

Janet

 

 

 

 

19 Responses to “I need a volunteer – anyone read and write Swedish?”

  1. Becky November 20, 2014 at 21:55 #

    I can translate it, I’m Swedish but I’m generally known to be notably better at English than most Swedish speaker who tend to be very good at swenglish, just so you know.
    Both articles are quite elaborate so it’s gonna take a while to translate. Do you have a deadline? I won’t waste my time translating if you are going to accept someone elses translations. So yes or no? 😉

    Like

  2. judgybitch November 20, 2014 at 22:22 #

    Becky, I would love that! At your convenience. I’m dying to know what has Sweden in such an uproar!

    Like

  3. FuzzieWuzzie November 20, 2014 at 22:33 #

    JB, while I can’t help you, I did notice that Lucien Valsan was among the commenters on one of those posts. While he may not be confident of his abilities, he may know someone who is.
    It wouldn’t surprise me that they’re up in arms about Annelie breaking feminine solidarity.
    Does anyone reading this have contacts at the Defense Language Institute/ Presidio od Monterey?

    Like

  4. judgybitch November 20, 2014 at 22:38 #

    I was chatting with him today and he is swamped.

    Like

  5. FuzzieWuzzie November 20, 2014 at 22:39 #

    Sorry, it looks like you have it covered.
    Becky, may it go smooth.

    Like

  6. genderneutrallanguage November 20, 2014 at 22:40 #

    https://translate.google.com/translate?sl=auto&tl=en&js=y&prev=_t&hl=en&ie=UTF-8&u=http%3A%2F%2Fse.avoiceformen.com%2Fmanshat%2Fdet-racker-nu-nyheter-24-fatta%2F&edit-text=&act=url

    Google translate isn’t nearly as good as an actual translator. The nuance is lost, but you can get the general idea fairly well.

    Like

  7. judgybitch November 20, 2014 at 22:42 #

    Yeah we were hoping for a translator who could metaphors and such. Looks like Becky will be helping us! Thank you Becky!

    Like

  8. Becky November 20, 2014 at 22:53 #

    Right, I’ll get right on it. The first link is mostly some bitching about a website publishing something or the other. The second link is an article about a woman ‘coming out’ as AVFM follower and it much better written. Which one do you want translated first?

    Like

  9. judgybitch November 20, 2014 at 22:57 #

    Perhaps the second one about Annalise? Your call Becky and once again thank you!

    Like

  10. Jacob November 20, 2014 at 23:15 #

    Some nuance is lost, but the gist is there.

    Like

  11. Mark November 20, 2014 at 23:17 #

    I’m curious to know how one can tell when Swedish feminists are in uproar over something, as I thought that was just their natural state of being. Who is Annelie?

    Like

  12. judgybitch November 20, 2014 at 23:44 #

    Thank you Jacob. We have a Swedish woman translating so we can capture that nuance!

    Like

  13. Becky November 21, 2014 at 00:05 #

    I am done. Where do I send it? It’s after midnight here so it might be good if you’d proofread the whole thing before posting it. I tend to suck at English style punctuation, so my commas might not suit your palate so please feel free to correct the text so it suits a true English speaking reader better. 😀

    Like

  14. judgybitch November 21, 2014 at 00:18 #

    Please send it to janet@avoiceformen.com and THANK YOU SO MUCH BECKY!

    Like

  15. Becky November 21, 2014 at 00:46 #

    I’ve emailed you the file, its a pdf. I just realised that you might want a rtf version or some such?

    Like

  16. Spaniard November 21, 2014 at 11:15 #

    Sweden was a paradise in the 90s. They told me now is hell for men.

    Like

  17. Annie November 21, 2014 at 11:38 #

    Hi everyone! I’m the author of the articles (the second together with William Andersson). I would really love if someone can translate it into english. If you need some nuances to be clearified, just ask me. Yes, and I can assure you that there is a special place in hell for women in Sweden who don’t want to be a part in this bullying feminist shit. And I’m not even offensive or rude in my article but quite gentle 🙂 That’s not necessary here. To be a woman and a teacher at the same time as not being a feminist is quite enough.

    Like

  18. Tyler November 21, 2014 at 14:17 #

    Can we get links for the translated? I don’t see it on AVFM, but I’m not very familiar with navigating their site.

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I need a volunteer – anyone read and write Swedish? | Manosphere.com - November 20, 2014

    […] I need a volunteer – anyone read and write Swedish? […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

