The Fitness Test – Chapter Three

16 Jan

Fitness Test

 

 

http://thefitnesstest.net/2015/01/chapter-three/

 

The Fitness Test is story about privilege, power and being clueless about having those things. Although Lowin would never use the word “racist” and doesn’t even know the word exists, I have modeled her on clueless white feminists who are resoundingly, defiantly racist.

 

The difference is that in Lowin’s world, there is no need to deny racist assumptions and stereotypes. They form the backbone of her whole world, and no one thinks there is anything wrong with that. I was inspired in large part by Karen Straughan’s observation that if our world were truly the teeming pot of woman-hate and misogyny feminists claim it is, being called a misogynist wouldn’t be a bad thing. People would not lose their jobs or reputations over allegations and accusations of misogyny.

 

Misogyny would just be normal.

 

I loved the Hunger Games, but Suzanne Collins very carefully sidesteps around issues of race. District 11 is mostly black and it’s the main agricultural district in Panem. That is a fact of the story, but Collins doesn’t make any comment on that. The Fitness Test confronts the issue of race dead-on, and Lowin’s spectacular blindness to race will not be staying intact as the story progresses.

 

Hope you enjoy the third installment of the Fitness Test, and for all those who expressed interest in the Skype call, I will be contacting you this week with details about when that will happen.

 

http://thefitnesstest.net/2015/01/chapter-three/

 

Thank you in advance for your comments and suggestions. I am especially grateful to those who find typos or inconsistent spelling (American vs. Canadian spellings trip me up in particular). There are some problems for people attempting to re-access data they have already paid for, and we are trying to figure out how to adjust the settings so you can access what you have paid for permanently. My apologies for the inconvenience. I’ll fix that as quickly as I can.

 

Lots of love,

 

JB

 

 

4 Responses to “The Fitness Test – Chapter Three”

  1. eddiejc1 January 18, 2015 at 03:19 #

    Now that I know about the problem with the cookies, my temporary solution is simple. Once I pay for a chapter, I copy the text and paste it into an e-mail which I send to myself—and only myself. That way, I’m free to re-read the chapter should the cookie forget that I’ve paid for it before.

    In meantime, I like what I’m reading. Lowin’s father sounds like a good man and his advice for her to take the poison dart over the sniper rifle is good because once you fire the rifle, everyone within earshot knows where you are. (I don’t know if you saw the movie, but this played a factor in the film Enemy At The Gates about the siege of Stalingrad.) Is the Fitness Test like The Hunger Games in that it continues until there is only one or two contestants, or does it end at a fixed time and anyone who is still alive at the end passes the test?

    Like

  2. eddiejc1 January 23, 2015 at 15:34 #

    Will Chapter 4 be out soon or is there a delay because of the cookies?

    Like

  3. judgybitch January 23, 2015 at 15:46 #

    Later today it will be up

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Fitness Test – Chapter Three | Manosphere.com - January 16, 2015

    […] The Fitness Test – Chapter Three […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

