The Fitness Test – Chapter 6

6 Feb

Update: I fixed the Paypal button issue! I failed to click the “allow users to register” box under general settings. Doh! 

rocks

 

Just one more chapter and the test begins….

 

Meanwhile, we’ll deliver a little justice, Jericho-style, from the world’s most self-aware, compassionate heroine, amirite?

 

http://thefitnesstest.net/2015/02/chapter-6/

 

 

12 Responses to “The Fitness Test – Chapter 6”

  1. that1susan February 6, 2015 at 22:34 #

    Hi JB, I’ve been trying to select the option to pay the $14.99 to access the whole story, but, unlike the option to pay $.99, it requires me to log into my WordPress account, but keeps saying that I’m not logging in correctly — even though I’m able to post just fine with my WordPress account on your blog (as I am right now). Even when I click “forgot password,” and enter my email address for the new one, it says that there’s no one registered with that email address. Is there some way you can make it just as easy to pay the $14.99 as it is to pay the $.99? Thanks for any help you can give me; I hope to catch up with reading soon! 🙂

    Like

  2. judgybitch February 6, 2015 at 22:59 #

    Check your email, Susan. I’m trying to sort out the PayPal issue, but until I do, enjoy!

    Like

  3. that1susan February 7, 2015 at 00:20 #

    Thanks a bunch!

    Like

  4. Kafka'd February 7, 2015 at 00:35 #

    In the comments a feminist defends insane gender ideology: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ksmnk2Eic80

    Like

  5. Michael February 7, 2015 at 15:38 #

    Hi JB – would you put me on the same list as that1susan (I assume it’s a revised link to paypal) I want to buy the whole book in one click. Thanks.

    Like

  6. that1susan February 7, 2015 at 20:32 #

    Wow! I’ve just read all six chapters and can hardly wait for the next installment! I’m very, very curious about the world outside the dome and strongly suspect that it’s not all that deadly. I think everyone’s being lied to about the radiation exposure, and the reason why most people are dead by 50 is probably just all part of their little program of getting rid of everyone before they outlive their usefulness as breeders and workers, and become a drain on resources.

    I’m wondering how Lowin is going to discover the real story about the war — if there even was the kind of war they’ve been taught about. And I suspect that the thing Lowin’s dad “did his best” about was ensuring that Glory’s death was as quick and painless as possible. He may have been sending that message to someone who loved her, such as the baby’s father. I think he’s part of a resistance because he’s realized they’ve all been lied to and is working to get things to the place where everyone can be free and can know the truth.

    Like

  7. that1susan February 7, 2015 at 21:20 #

    Well, I got tired of hitting “see more” and scrolling through endless comments looking for whichever post you were talking about. While I did see a few posts of the “men should never hit women no matter what”-variety, it seemed that the majority felt like the woman didn’t need to be acting like that. Personally, I have no idea what the place was or what all the people were arguing over — but I’d certainly never be kicking or hitting anyone like the woman was.

    If a man ever did anything to make me angry enough to want to punch him and kick him in the balls, I’d just leave him alone completely, because he wouldn’t be worth my energy.

    And at the same time, if I were in the man’s shoes (whether male or female) and people were being that unpleasant towards me, I would have walked away from the situation and probably made a complaint to whoever was in authority if their rudeness was causing me to miss out on something I really wanted to do. I’ll never understand why anyone decides to stay in a situation like that, where emotions are clearly escalating and a rational discussion simply can’t be had.

    It seems to me like a simple case of stupid people being stupid — with the woman winning the stupid award in this case and the man coming in a close second.

    Like

  8. Kafka'd February 8, 2015 at 21:07 #

    “Sen Flores”

    Like

  9. that1susan February 8, 2015 at 22:38 #

    I also want to say that I really value the way that the current Lowin mirrors much of the anti-nonwhite sentiment that I hear spewing from some of the really ultra-conservative anti-feminist sites like “Kings & Queens Return.” I love your combination of conservatism and progressivism — this idea of hanging onto the parts of traditionalism that really work, like the custom of two people making a covenant to love and support one another and raise a family together, while at the same time allowing for creativity and individuality and realizing that different couples can make it work in radically different ways.

    Also, even though I know you wouldn’t call yourself a “social justice warrior,” it’s very clear that you DO see racial injustice whereas people like Ann Szewczyk of “Kings and Queens Return” see black people as children who throw tantrums and burn down their own cities when a court doesn’t decide something the way they wanted (link 1 below), and spoiled brats who’ve gotten used to living privileged lives and claiming that everything is their personal invention (link 2 below).

    Lowin’s staunch believe in the fairness of the points system in The Fitness Test is a perfect reflection of this ultra-conservative ideology, The white children are provided with more education and training hours, and therefore have more opportunities to win achievements, which increases their points, and Lowin sees her increased opportunity as fair because it would be a “waste” to give the blacks all that extra education and training, and at the same time, it would be unfair to allow anyone a handicap by giving them any points they hadn’t earned. The black president’s ability to overcome all the odds stacked against her and pass the test are all the evidence Lowin needs of the system’s fairness.

    You seem to be coming up with awesome material for constructing Lowin’s character, but if you need any extra inspiration, I seriously recommend reading what Ann has to say. She’s like a grown up (or just much, much older) version of Lowin who never had to go through a fitness test.

    1) http://kingsandqueensreturn.com/like-clockwork-of-course-they-burn-their-cities/

    2) http://kingsandqueensreturn.com/whos-appropriating-what/

    Like

  10. that1susan February 8, 2015 at 22:51 #

    Okay, I’ve just reread one of her more recent posts where she said that a woman who hit a man assuming that she wouldn’t be hit back was practicing “mild” sexism and not real sexism, because I guess she assumed that female sexism can’t do as much harm as male sexism. I do disagree with her on that, for sure. So I guess she is operating in the mindset that men have all the power and women have none, but I did at least appreciate the fact that she didn’t see the woman’s behavior as excusable and assume that the guy must have done something awful and “had it coming to him.”

    Like

  11. that1susan February 13, 2015 at 19:59 #

    While engaged in a debate about racism on the Kings and Queens Return site, I talked about the harmfulness of demonizing people with dissenting viewpoints — and now I’ve realized that I myself was guilty of demonizing, or at least inaccurately portraying, Ann Szewczyk by implying that she’d never had to pass any sort of a fitness test.

    Having read various other posts of Ann’s, it’s pretty clear that she’s passed many tests in her life. She is either a widowed or divorced mother, and she’s also capable of humble self-examination, judging by her critique of herself in a post about her mother.

    So she’s NOT some spoiled princess who’s had everything handed to her. However, I’m still standing by my original assertion that her stated views on black people seem to closely resemble Lowin’s.

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Fitness Test – Chapter 6 | Manosphere.com - February 6, 2015

    […] The Fitness Test – Chapter 6 […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

